Ellen DeGeneres, Freddie Smith, “Laverne Cox Presents The T Word,” Nominated For Daytime Emmys

The nominees for the 2015 Daytime Emmys have been announced and LGBT talent, characters and programming aree well represented.

Laverne Cox Presents: The T Word, Logo TV’s in-depth look at the lives of young trans people in America, received a nod for Outstanding Special Class Special yesterday—appropriately enough, Transgender Day of Visibility.

laverne cox presents the t word

Ellen DeGeneres continues her Emmy streak, as her talk show was nominated for its ninth award. DeGeneres took herself out of the running as host some years back, but is nominated as executive producer this year.

Ellen Degeneres Sam Smith

Another out personality, Sara Gilbert, received a nomination as executive producer and co-host of The Talk, along with Julie Chen, Sharon Osbourne, Aisha Tyler and Sheryl Underwood.

Related: Gay Storylines, Personalities, Nab Nominations At 2014 Daytime Emmys

Robin Roberts and the team at Good Morning America have been nominated for Outstanding Morning Program once again, while The Chew’s openly gay (and openly adorable) co-host Clinton Kelly was nominated for Outstanding Informative Talk Show Host, along with co-stars Mario Batali, Carla Hall, Daphne Oz and Michael Symon.

In the world of daytime dramas, Days of Our Lives actor Freddie Smith was nominated for Outstanding Younger Actor in a Drama Series for his continued portrayal of gay character Sonny Kiriakis.


Out actress Meredith Baxter was nominated as Outstanding Special Guest Performer for her recurring role on The Young and the Restless. She’s up against Donna Mills, Sally Kellerman, Ray Wise, Fred Willard and Linda Elena Tovar.

As we reported earlier, beloved entertainer Betty White is slated to receive a special lifetime achievement award at the ceremony, which will air April 26 at 8pm on Pop TV (formerly the TV Guide Channel).

SNL 40th Anniversary Celebration

For a full list of nominees click here.