Gay Conversion Therapy Drama “Miseducation Of Cameron Post” Wins Top Prize At Sundance

Desiree Akhavan’s Miseducation of Cameron Post won the grand jury prize at the Sundance Film Festival this weekend. Adapted from Emily M. Danforth’s 2012 novel, the film stars Chloë Grace Moretz as a teen forced into gay conversion therapy by her evangelical aunt.

Beachside Parkville Pictures

“We want to dedicate this award to the LGBTQ survivors of sexual conversion therapy,” Moretz said in her acceptance speech Saturday night. “We want this movie to shine a light (on the fact) that it is only illegal in nine states out of the 50 to practice sexual conversion therapy.”

George Pimentel/Getty Images

Moretz, who has two older brothers that are gay, worked with real-life victims of conversion therapy to prepare for the film, which has not been picked up for distribution yet.

Below, view the full list of awards from Sundance 2018:


Grand Jury Prize: The Miseducation of Cameron Post

Audience Award:Burden

Directing: Sara Colangelo, The Kindergarten Teacher

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Christina Choe, Nancy

Special Jury Award for outstanding first feature: Monsters and Men

Special Jury Award for excellence in filmmaking: I Think We’re Alone Now

Special Jury Award for achievement in acting: Benjamin Dickey, Blaze


Grand Jury Prize: Kailash

Audience Award: The Sentence

Directing: Alexandria Bombach, On Her Shoulders

Special Jury Award for creative vision: Hale County This Morning, This Evening

Special Jury Award for social impact: Crime + Punishment

Special Jury Award for storytelling: Three Identical Strangers

Special Jury Award for breakthrough filmmaking: Minding the Gap


Grand Jury Prize:Butterflies

Audience Award: The Guilty

Directing: Ísold Uggadóttir, And Breathe Normally

Special Jury Award for screenwriting: Julio Chavezmontes and Sebastián Hofmann, Time Share (Tiempo Compartido)

Special Jury Award for acting: Valeria Bertuccelli, The Queen of Fear

Special Jury Award for ensemble acting: Dead Pigs


Grand Jury Prize: Of Fathers and Sons

Audience Award: This Is Home

Directing: Sandi Tan, Shirkers

Special Jury Award: Stephen Loveridge and M.I.A., Matangi/Maya/M.I.A.

Special Jury Award for editing: Maxim Pozdorovkin and Matvey Kulakov, Our New President

Special Jury Award for cinematography: Maxim Arbugaev and Peter Indergand, Genesis 2.0


NEXT Audience Award:Search

NEXT Innovator Prize (tie): Night Comes On and We the Animals

Dan Avery is a writer-editor who focuses on culture, breaking news and LGBT rights. His work has appeared in Newsweek, The New York Times, Time Out New York, The Advocate and elsewhere.