GLAAD Will Honor Ryan Murphy for Promoting LGBTQ Acceptance

The "Pose" creator is receiving the Vito Russo Award.

Strike a pose, take a bow.

GLAAD, the world’s largest LGBTQ media advocacy organization, has announced that it will honor prolific screenwriter, producer, and director Ryan Murphy with the Vito Russo Award at the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards. The Emmy, Golden Globe, and Tony winner will receive the award March 19 at the Hilton Midtown in New York.

The Vito Russo Award, named for a GLAAD founder and ACT UP activist, is presented annually to an openly LGBTQ media professional who has made a significant difference in accelerating LGBTQ acceptance. Previous Vito Russo honorees include Billy Porter, Anderson Cooper, Ricky Martin, Andy Cohen, Cynthia Nixon, RuPaul, Rosie O’Donnell, Tom Ford, Samira Wiley, Thomas Roberts, George Takei, and Alan Cumming.

“Ryan Murphy is a talented trailblazer behind some of the most innovative and popular LGBTQ projects in television, theater and film history, and he continues to bring underrepresented LGBTQ voices to the table in ways that raise the bar in Hollywood,” says GLAAD president and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis in a statement. “Ryan’s unique and gifted brand of storytelling has not only entertained the masses, but provided LGBTQ youth with characters who inspire them to live boldly and proudly.”

The GLAAD Media Awards, which celebrate fair and accurate LGBTQ representation in media, currently recognize nominees in 30 English and Spanish-language categories. This year Murphy is up for Outstanding Comedy Series for The Politician and Outstanding Drama Series for Pose.

Previously, Murphy has received GLAAD Media Awards for PoseGlee, The Normal HeartAmerican Horror Story, The New NormalPopular, and The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story. His other GLAAD Media Award-nominated projects include Feud: Bette and JoanThe Glee Project, and Running With Scissors.

In 2018 Murphy produced the Tony-winning Broadway revival of The Boys in the Band, Mart Crowley’s seminal drama about a group of gay men who gather for an intimate birthday celebration in 1960s pre-Stonewall Manhattan. He is also producing a Netflix film version of the play with the entire all-gay Broadway cast reprising their roles.

Murphy’s additional upcoming Netflix projects include Ratched, Hollywood, and a star-studded adaptation of the Tony-nominated Broadway musical The Prom.

Bruce Glikas/Getty Images

Focusing on gay and trans performers in New York City’s 1980s and 1990s ballroom scene, Pose has made history with the most trans series regulars ever in an American scripted TV series; the production has also employed hundreds of LGBTQ actors, crew members, and consultants. Murphy, who created Pose in collaboration with producers Brad Falchuk and Steven Canals, has committed to donating 100% of his profits from the groundbreaking FX series to various LGBTQ charities.

In 2016 Murphy launched Half, a Hollywood initiative committed to creating equal opportunities for women and minorities behind the camera.

GLAAD announced earlier this month that Taylor Swift will receive its Vanguard Award and Pose writer-director Janet Mock will receive the Stephen F. Kolzak Award.

The 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards will be held March 19 in New York City and April 16 in Los Angeles.

Celebrity interviewer. Foodie and Broadway buff in Manhattan. Hates writing bios.