Jennifer Lawrence, Leonardo DiCaprio, Bill Clinton At The GLAAD Media Awards In L.A.

charlize theron and leonardo dicaprio

Photos: Kevin Winter/Getty Images North America

Star-studded doesn’t even begin to describe the 24th annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles last night, when Oscar winners, box-office legends and former presidents came together to honor those who have fought tirelessly on behalf of the LGBT community.

Drew Barrymore hosted the event, which saw performances by Kelly Rowland and Glee’s Darren Criss, as well as appearances by Charlize Theron, Leonardo DiCaprio, Kirsten Dunst, Tobey Maguire, Chris Evans, Elle Fanning, The New Normal’s Andrew Rannells and Justin Bartha, Chaz Bono, Ryan Murphy, Glee’s Alex Newell and Naya Rivera, White Collar’s Matt Bomer, Days of Our LivesFreddie Smith, The Perks of Being a Wallflower’s Johnny Simmons and Logan Lerman, Grey’s Anatomy actors Sara Ramirez and Eric Dane; singer Beth Ditto, Vampire Diaries’ Kat Graham, Brad Goreski, TV personalities Ross Matthews and Maria Menounos, Magic Mike’s Alex Pettyfer, The Fosters’ Teri Polo and Sherri Saum, MSNBC’s Thomas Roberts, the legendary Betty White and Raising Hope co-stars Cloris Leachman, Shannon Woodward and Harvey Guillen.

Hunger Games star Jennifer Lawrence and super-producer Harvey Weinstein presented the premiere Advocate for Change award to former President Bill Clinton, who said he would keep working “until not only DOMA is no longer the law of the land, but until all people, no matter where they live, can marry the people they love.”

Clinton, who signed the Defense of Marriage Act into law back in 1996, has been vocal in his support of LGBT rights since leaving office: In 2012, he joined the Coalition to Protect North Carolina Families to fight an amendment banning marriage equality and civil unions. And, earlier this year, he penned a Washington Post op-ed calling for the Supreme Court to strike down DOMA.

Below, check out President Clinton’s address:


Winners at the 24th annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles were:

  • Advocate for Change Award:  Bill Clinton
  • Stephen F. Kolzak Award:  entertainment lawyer Steve Warren
  • Outstanding Film – Wide Release:  The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Summit Entertainment)
  • Outstanding Comedy Series:  The New Normal (NBC)
  • Outstanding Individual Episode:  “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Me What to Do” Raising Hope (Fox)
  • Outstanding TV Movie or Mini-Series:  American Horror Story: Asylum (FX)
  • Outstanding Daily Drama:  Days of Our Lives (NBC)
  • Outstanding Talk Show Episode:  “At Home with Neil Patrick Harris, His Fiancé David Burtka, & Their Twins” Oprah’s Next Chapter (OWN)
  • Outstanding Los Angeles Theater:  The Children by Michael Elyanow

Below, some of the stars on the red carpet and during the ceremony:

jennifer lawrence and darren criss

Jennifer Lawrence and Darren Criss

drew barrymore

Drew Barrymore

kirsten dunst

Kristen Dunst

bill clinton and chelsea clinton

President Bill Clinton and Chelsea Clinton

justin bartha

The New Normal’s Justin Bartha


Naya Rivera

Glee’s Naya Rivera

andrew rannels and jen tyrrell

The New Normal’s Andrew Rannells with Jennifer Tyrrell

elle fanning jazz jennings alex newell

Elle Fanning and Alex Newell with trans youth advocate Jazz Jennings

Maria Menounos

Maria Menounos

cloris leachman

Raising Hope’s Cloris Leachman

chris evans

Avengers star Chris Evan (right) with brother Scott Evans

  charlize theron and elle fanning

Charlize Theron and Elle Fanning

kelly rowland

Kelly Rowlands

brad goresky
Brad Goreski

matt bomer

Matt Bomer

jazz jennings family

Jazz Jennings and her family

 perez hilton

Perez Hilton

Beth Ditto and Kristen Ogata

Beth Ditto and fiancee Kristen Ogata

rebecca gayhart
Eric Dane and Rebecca Gayhart


rumer willis

Rumer Willis

alex pettyfer and betty white

Alex Pettyfer and Betty White

Photos: Kevin Winter/Getty Images North America

Editor in Chief of NewNowNext. Comic book enthusiast. Bounder and cad.