Kelly Ripa Accepts Excellence in Media Award At GLAAD Media Awards In New York

kelly ripa

Anderson Cooper presented Emmy-winning talk show host Kelly Ripa with GLAAD’s Excellence in Media Award at the 26th Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York City Saturday night.

The honor is given to media professionals who have made a significant difference in promoting equality—past honorees include Julianne Moore, Glenn Close, Barbara Walters, Bob and Harvey Weinstein, Diane Sawyer and Vanessa Redgrave.

Ripa has shared the stories of LGBT Americans with audiences for years on her morning talk show, has been a staunch advocate for marriage equality and LGBT youth, and produced  Logo’s Secret Guide to Fabulous with husband Mark Consuelos.

“I celebrated my 19th wedding anniversary last week and as I was trying to come up with something impactful to say tonight, I couldn’t help but think of all of the people in this country and across the globe who have been denied the joy that I have known for 19 years,” said Ripa in her acceptance speech. “The Supreme Court is in the midst of making some big decisions deciding the fate of marriage equality throughout this country. But it must not end there. Equality means equality across the board.”

Ripa added that she hopes and trusts the Supreme Court decision “will move the nation towards the same type of acceptance that my own children are growing up with.”

Drag Race judge Ross Mathews hosted the gala event at the Waldorf-Astoria, which also saw Lynda Carter presenting the Vito Russo Award to journalist Thomas Roberts:

And out country singer Ty Herndon performing Miley Cyrus’ “The Climb” with Antigone Rising’s Kristen Henderson.



Other celebrity guests included Transparent’s Jeffrey Tambor, Judith Light and Trace Lysette; Homeland’s Rupert Friend; Looking’s Jonathan Groff, Orange is the New Black’s Laverne Cox, Dascha Polanco and Jackie Cruz, writer and trans activist Janet Mock; Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt’s Tituss Burgess; pro athletesJason Collins and Michael Sam; models Andreja Pejić, Carmen Carrera, Rain Dove, Josephine Skriver, Cory Wade; Survivor’s Josh Canfield and Reed Kelly; and Secret Guide’s Theodore Leaf and Rob Younkers.

Below, check out more photos from the GLAAD Media Awards in New York.

Reed Kelly and Josh Canfield

Judith Light

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos

Anderson Cooper and Benjamin Maisani

Lynda Carter

Darren Young


Jonathan Groff

Thomas Roberts

Jason Collins

Ty Herndon

Tituss Burgess

Omar Sharif Jr.


Editor in Chief of NewNowNext. Comic book enthusiast. Bounder and cad.