LGBTQ Critics Vote J.Lo, Billy Porter, “Cats” Among Best of 2019

The Dorian Awards also honor "Parasite," "Booksmart," and Lady Gaga.

GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics has spoken.

GALECA, which is comprised of 260 primarily U.S. journalists who cover film and television, named the winners of its 2019 Dorian Awards, which recognize TV, movies, and talent in both mainstream and LGBTQ-focused categories.

Leading the acting categories, Renée Zellweger won Film Performance of the Year—Actress for Judy and Antonio Banderas won Film Performance of the Year—Actor for Pain and Glory. Hustlers
 star Jennifer Lopez edged out stiff competition to win Film Performance of the Year—Supporting Actress.

LD Entertainment/Roadside Attractions

FX’s Pose topped the TV Drama and LGBTQ TV Show categories for the second year; star Billy Porter also won again for TV Performance of the Year—Actor.

Among GALECA’s trademark categories, Booksmart won Unsung Film of the Year, The Other Two won Unsung TV Show of the Year, Cats won Campy Flick of the Year, and The Politician won Campy TV Show of the Year. LGBTQ Film of the Year went to Portrait of a Lady on Fire.

Lady Gaga, specially honored as Wilde Artist of the Decade, also won TV Musical Performance of the Year for her Oscars performance of “Shallow” with A Star Is Born co-star Bradley Cooper.

Fleabag creator and star Phoebe Waller-Bridge, who won TV Comedy of the Year and TV Performance of the Year—Actress, was also named Wilde Wit of the Year, 
which honors a celebrity “whose observations both challenge and amuse.”

South Korean director Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite scored five big wins, including Film of the Year.

“GALECA members strive to determine the best cinematic experiences through the distinct LGBTQ lens, and this year was particularly rich in options,” said GALECA president Diane Anderson-Minshall, editorial director of The Advocate. “Yet when director Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite practically swept our awards roster with five wins, I was not surprised. The dynamic, darkly comic drama about a poor family conniving to live the good life speaks to the times we live in, with vivid commentary on class, inequity and even climate change. Parasite is a perfect film for the Trump era.”

Pose/Pari Dukovic/FX

GALECA, established in 2009 as a core member of CGEM: Critics Groups for Equality in Media, “aims to generate camaraderie and solidarity in an unsettling media environment, champion constructive film and television criticism and elevate the craft of entertainment journalism,” according to an official statement. “Via panels, screenings and our annual Dorian Awards, GALECA also strives to remind at-risk youth, bullies and bigots that the world looks to the Q eye for leads on great, unique movies and TV.”

As previously announced, Olivia Wilde, first-time director of Booksmart, will receive a special honor as Wilde Artist of the Year at GALECA’s invite-only Dorian Awards Winners Toast, held February 2 in Los Angeles.

Find a full list of 2019 Dorian Award nominees and winners (noted by asterisks) below.

Film of the Year

Little Women

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Pain and Glory


Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Director of the Year

Pedro Almodovar, Pain and Glory 

Greta Gerwig, Little Women

*Bong Joon-ho, Parasite

Sam Mendes, 1917

Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Film Performance of the Year—Actress
Awkwafina, The Farewell
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story

Lupita Nyong’o, Us

Alfre Woodard, Clemency
*Renée Zellweger, Judy

Film Performance of the Year—Actor
*Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory

Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems

Joaquin Phoenix, Joker

Taron Egerton, Rocketman

Film Performance of the Year—Supporting Actress 

Laura Dern, Marriage Story

Florence Pugh, Little Women
*Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers
Margot Robbie, Bombshell

Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Film Performance of the Year—Supporting Actor

Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

Al Pacino, The Irishman 

Joe Pesci, The Irishman

Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

*Song Kang-ho, Parasite

LGBTQ Film of the Year

End of the Century
Pain and Glory
*Portrait of a Lady on Fire


Foreign Language Film of the Year
The Atlantics 

Pain and Glory 


Portrait of a Lady on Fire

The Farewell

Screenplay of the Year

Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story

*Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin-won, Parasite

Greta Gerwig, Little Women

Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Rian Johnson, Knives Out

Documentary of the Year 

American Factory

Apollo 11

For Sama


One Child Nation

LGBTQ Documentary of the Year
Circus of Books 
Gay Chorus Deep South

The Gospel of Eureka


*Scream, Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street

Visually Striking Film of the Year (tie)

The Lighthouse

*Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Unsung Film of the Year

Her Smell

Gloria Bell

The Last Black Man in San Francisco


Campy Flick of the Year 
Knives Out



TV Drama of the Year



TV Comedy of the Year
The Other Two


Russian Doll
Schitt’s Creek

TV Performance of the Year—Actor
Bill Hader, Barry
Dan Levy, Schitt’s Creek

Jharrel Jerome, When They See Us
*Billy Porter, Pose 

Jeremy Strong, Succession

TV Performance of the Year—Actress 

Natasha Lyonne, Russian Doll

Catherine O’Hara, Schitt’s Creek

Mj Rodriguez, Pose

*Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag

Michelle Williams, Fosse/Verdon

LGBTQ TV Show of the Year 

The Other Two


Schitt’s Creek

Tales of the City 

Unsung TV Show of the Year
Gentleman Jack

On Becoming a God in Central Florida

*The Other Two

Years and Years

TV Current Affairs Show of the Year
Full Frontal With Samantha Bee

The Rachel Maddow Show
Last Week Tonight With John Oliver

The Late Show With Stephen Colbert

*Leaving Neverland

TV Musical Performance of the Year
*Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga, “Shallow,” The 91st Academy Awards

Lizzo, “Truth Hurts,” VMAs 2019

Megan Mullally, “The Man That Got Way,” Will & Grace
Annie Murphy, “A Little Bit Alexis,” Schitt’s Creek

Michelle Williams, “Who’s Got the Pain?,” Fosse/Verdon

Campy TV Show of the Year 
American Horror Story: 1984

Big Little Lies
RuPaul’s Drag Race

*The Politician


The “We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award
Roman Griffin Davis 

Kaitlyn Dever

Beanie Feldstein

*Florence Pugh

Hunter Schafer

Wilde Wit of the Year
Dan Levy

Billy Porter 

Randy Rainbow

Taika Waititi

*Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Wilde Artist of the Decade (special accolade)
*Lady Gaga

Greta Gerwig

Ryan Murphy

Billy Porter

Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Timeless Star (career achievement award)
*Catherine O’Hara

Celebrity interviewer. Foodie and Broadway buff in Manhattan. Hates writing bios.