Madonna’s New Single Is the Perfect Addition to Your Poolside Playlist

Cha-cha-cha...

Madonna is known for releasing dance floor fillers like “Hung Up” and “Ray of Light,” but for her new single, the Material Girl has released a breezy sun-soaked tune that is begging to be played poolside.

“Medellin” is the first single off of Madonna’s forthcoming 14th studio album, Madame X, and she premiered it today on Apple Music’s Beats 1 radio station. Madonna performs the track with Maluma, who is also a co-writer, and the song is co-produced by Mirwais, whom she collaborated with on American Life and Confessions on a Dance Floor.

The Queen of Pop will unveil the video for the single during MTV Presents Madonna Live & Exclusive: ‘Medellin’ Video World Premiere, a MTV event which will be televised at 9pm London time/4pm ET/1pm PT, today, April 17.

She’ll be joined by British DJ Trevor Nelson and fans at the London live event for a conversation about “the influences of her new album and the creative forces behind her transcendent career,” MTV said. Colombian pop star Maluma will join live from Miami.

“Influenced creatively by living in Lisbon, Portugal over the past several years, Madame X is a collection of 15 new songs that celebrate Madonna’s career-long affair with Latin music and culture as well as other global influences,” the album’s description reads.

Madame X drops June 14. To support the album, Madonna will be performing at the grand finale for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest—and she’s rumored to be headlining the final night of Pride Island, part of NYC Pride.

A new era of Madonna has begun! Check out the sunny new single below.
 

I write about drag queens. Dolly Parton once ruffled my hair and said I was "just the cutest thing ever."
@chrisreindeer