New Order Releases “Restless ,” First New Track In More Than A Decade

New Wave icons New Order have returned for the first time in more than a decade with a new single “Restless,” off their upcoming album Music Complete.

It’s a moody and confidently subtle tune,¬†with Bernard Sumner’s post-punk riffs layered under a simple acoustic guitar, gorgeous synths by original keyboardist Gillian Gilbert and the band’s characteristically quick percussion.

Merry New Order

Missing from the crew is longtime bassist Peter Hook, who helped Sumner form New Order following the breakup Joy Division.

Nonetheless, the band hasn’t lost any of its magic: “Restless” keeps New Order’s legacy alive, and is right in line with classics like “Blue Monday,” “Age of Consent,” “Ceremony” and ’Temptation.”

New Order

“Restless, I feel so restless,” Sumner coos. “And in this changing world, I’m at a loss for words.”

Thank goodness you’re restless, Mr. Sumner, or we wouldn’t have gotten this anthem for the dog days of summer.

Listen to “Restless” below.

Music Complete is out September 25.