Bill Clinton Honoring Edie Windsor, Roberta Kaplan At Logo’s Trailblazers

bill clinton edie windsor
President Bill Clinton will honor Edie Windsor and Roberta Kaplan at Logo’s Trailblazers special on June 26, the one-year anniversary of the Supreme Court declaring the Defense of Marriage Act unconstitutional.

“Seventeen years after signing DOMA into law, I was honored and grateful to be among the voices urging that it be overturned,” said Clinton in a statement. “The decision would not have happened without Edie Windsor’s dogged determination to right a wrong and Roberta Kaplan’s equal commitment to simple fairness. As marriage equality spreads across the states, the number of people impacted by these two amazing women will only continue to grow.”

Activist and former R.E.M. frontman Michael Stipe will honor Ugandan gay-rights activist and refugee John “Longjones” Abdallah Wambereas as an International Trailblazer for his work advocating for LGBT rights in his homeland. With Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni signing the Anti-Homosexuality Act into law this year, and homosexuality now a criminal offense punishable by 14 years in prison, Wambere is seeking asylum in the United States.

OITNB_S2_0038Demi Lovato will honor the series Orange Is the New Black for bringing the lives of LGBT characters rarely seen on television into millions of homes . Cast members Danielle Brooks, Laverne Cox (right), Lea DeLaria, Taryn Manning  and Samira Wiley will accept the award on behalf of the show.

Lance Bass will honor Jason Collins as the first openly gay athlete on a professional sports team, while Trevor Project Hero Daniel Radcliffe will spotlight the efforts of four Trailblazing Youth, who are making a positive impact in their local communities.
Sia, accompanied by New York City’s Gay Men Chorus will perform her hit “Chandelier” and A Great Big World will perform “Say Something” with Exousia. Joe Manganiello and Ed Sheeran join a growing list of celebrity appearances that include Daniel Radcliffe, Jared Leto, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Kylie Minogue, Pete Wentz, Ariana Grande, Iggy Azaela, Tegan and Sara, and Laura Jane Grace.