Sam Smith, Bianca Del Rio, “How To Get Away With Murder” Nominated For 2014 NewNowNext Awards

newnownext awards

Bianca Del Rio, Sam Smith, ABC’s “How to Get Away With Murder”

The end is nigh—the end of the year, that is! Voting has started for Logo TV’s 2014 NewNowNext Awards, our definitive look at the breakout artists of 2014 and the rising stars who will dominate pop culture in the year to come.

hedwig newnownext awards neil patrick harris


Nominees span film (Love is Strange, Dear White People), television (How to Get Away with Murder, Transparent), music (Sam Smith, A Great Big World) and theater (Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Mothers and Sons)—plus fashion, literature, art and social media. More nominees will be announced in the weeks to come.

Click here to start voting for your favorite nominees!

“The New Now Next Awards are a crystal ball for popular culture,” said Ryan Kroft, SVP of Programming Specials and Events for MTV and Logo TV. “They celebrate the now and introduce fans to what’s on the horizon. The awards honor the artists and creators whose films, shows, music, and even social media impact helped define last year and will shape the future.”

Catch the 2014 NewNowNext Awards December 7 at 8pm on Logo TV

Nominees for the 2014 New Now Next Awards

looking 2


Best New Television Series:
Broad City
How To Get Away With Murder

Best New Television Actor:
Jay Duplass, Transparent
Jonathan Groff, Looking
Thomas Middleditch, Silicon Valley
Pedro Pascal, Game of Thrones
Justin Theroux, The Leftovers

Best New Television Actress:
Ilana Glazer, Broad City
Gaby Hoffmann, Transparent
Molly Parker, House of Cards
Katie Stevens, Faking It
Lorraine Toussaint, Orange is the New Black

bianca 4

Bianca Del Rio

Best New Television Personality:
Pete Davidson, Saturday Night Live
Bianca Del Rio, RuPaul’s Drag Race
John Oliver, Last Week Tonight With John Oliver
Gwen Stefani, The Voice
Neil deGrasse Tyson, Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey

Best Motion Picture By a New Filmmaker:
Dear White People, Justin Simien
The Fault in Our Stars, Josh Boone
Guardians of the Galaxy, James Gunn
Snowpiercer, Bong Joon-ho
The Theory of Everything, James Marsh

Best New Screenwriter:
Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl
Craig Johnson (with Mark Heyman), The Skeleton Twins
Gillian Robespierre, Obvious Child
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias, Love Is Strange
Justin Simien, Dear White People


Dylan O’Brien in “The Maze Runner”

Best New Lead Film Actor
Ellar Coltrane, Boyhood
Ansel Elgort, The Fault In Our Stars
Dylan O’Brien, The Maze Runner
Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy
Miles Teller, Whiplash

Best New Lead Film Actress
Carrie Coon, Gone Girl
Natalie Dormer, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1
Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Belle
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Jenny Slate, Obvious Child

Best New Musician (Male)
Nick Jonas
John Newman
Paolo Nutini
Sam Smith


Meghan Trainor

Best New Musician (Female)
Iggy Azalea
Charli XCX
Mary Lambert
Meghan Trainor
Betty Who

Best New Music Group
A Great Big World

Best New Broadway Production (Musical)
Beautiful: The Carole King Musical
Hedwig and the Angry Inch
Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar and Grill


“This is Our Youth”

Best New Broadway Production (Play)
The Curious Incident of the Dog at Night-Time
It’s Only a Play
Mothers and Sons
A Raisin in The Sun
This Is Our Youth

Best New Broadway Lead Actor
Michael Cera, This Is Our Youth
Bryan Cranston, All The Way
Rupert Grint, It’s Only a Play
Chris O’Dowd, ‘Of Mice and Men
Alexander Sharp, The Curious Incident of the Dog at Night Time

Best New Broadway Lead Actress
Rose Byrne, You Can’t Take It With You
Tavi Gevinson, This Is Our Youth
Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Real Thing
Sophie Okonedo, A Raisin in The Sun
Michelle Williams, Cabaret