Uruguay: The 12th Nation To Legalize Gay Marriage

While the United Kingdom and France were drinking tea and smoking cigarettes respectively, Uruguay became the 12th country to legalize the freedom to marry for same-sex couples.

The House voted 71-21 in favor of a marriage equality bill and President José Mujica says he intends to sign it.

With this historic moment, Uruguay joins the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Canada, South Africa, Norway, Sweden, Portugal, Iceland, Argentina, and Denmark as the 12th nation to offer its citizens nationwide marriage equality.

Brazil, Mexico, and the United States offer it in parts of the country.

France and the UK are poised to follow as marriage bills in each country make their way through the legislative process.

Related: Gay Marriage Wins In France After Crucial Senate Vote